The Great World Cup Germany 2006

The 2006 FIFA World Cup (officially called 2006 FIFA World Cup Germany and sometimes referred as the Football World Cup), finals will be held in Germany from 9 June to 9 July 2006. The 32 teams that will be participating in the tournament are now qualified. The 2006 finals will take place on the 18th of April.

Twelve German cities were selected to host the World Cup Final tournament. The capacities of the stadiums shown are all for seated capacity. The stadiums are capable of hosting German domestic matches, with many having higher capacity because some of their seats are replaced by terraces. Since 2006, the host country is automatically eligible. One thing to give it a go while in Germany is .

Six FIFA confederations were given a share of 32 spots during the FIFA World Cup 2006 qualification process. The allocation was determined by the strength of their respective teams. The final distribution was as follow:Europe – represented UEFA : 51 countries compete for 13 spots (Germany automatically qualified as host country for a total 14 places);Africa – 51 teams;South America -10 team;Asia – 39 teams;North Central American and Caribbean –34 teams;Oceania – 12 teams

The current champion (Brazil), will not be automatically qualified for this tournament. The hosts (Germany), will keep their automatic spot. The 1934 champions (Uruguay), who were the current champions, declined to play. Italy, as the hosts, had to qualify. But, in the tournaments from 1938 to 2002 (inclusive), both hosts and the defending champions received automatic berths.

Oceania was to have one place in the 32 finals. This was the original plan. But, Australia, which is the strongest footballing nation in its region, saw this as giving them a nearly certain spot. In June 2003, this decision was reversed and the old distribution of places between Oceania & South America was restored.

The biggest surprises in European qualification at World Cup Germany was the exclusion of 2002 third-place Finishers Turkey (eliminated after a crucial playoff), 2004 European Champions Greece, and established sides Denmark (eliminated also by Ukraine), Russia (eliminated likewise by Portugal), and Belgium. Africa’s 2002 quarter-finalists Senegal were eliminated by Togo, while established sides South Africa (eliminated also by the Ukraine), Russia (eliminated equally by the Ukraine), and Denmark (eliminated simultaneously by the Ukraine and Russia) missed the trip to the Finals. The other zones were not affected. Australia, which represents Oceania, is now part of Asia Confederation. It will be representing Asia in the next World Cups.

If two teams are equal in points, they will be ranked in the following order: greater number and goals obtained in matches among the tied sides, greater goals scored in matches of the tied sides, greater goals scored in all matches of the tied teams.

Threety-two year after the last FIFA World Cup in Germany, 2006 FIFA World Cup is set to take place in Germany. The New Germany will be seen as the center of Europe for the first-ever time following the reunification and reunifications of both German states.

Comments are closed.

Proudly powered by WordPress
Theme: Esquire by Matthew Buchanan.